He studied at Georgetown University, where he received a B.A., and the University of Salzburg where he received his Ph.D. He taught at the University of Dallas, and later held the Prince Franz Josef and Princess Gina Chair for Ethics, at the International Academy of Philosophy in Liechtenstein. He has previously served as chair of the philosophy department at Franciscan University of Steubenville as well as the director of the M.A. Philosophy Program, a program he helped found. In 1997 he received Senior Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching at Franciscan University of Steubenville. He is a member of American Catholic Philosophical Association, where he has also served on the Executive Committee; the American Philosophical Association; the Newman Association of America, and the University Faculty for Life.